h1

Things Change

June 30, 2011

It is beginning to dawn on me that I will be leaving for Israel in two months. Deadlines approach and arrangements need to be made. I will tomorrow go to the Consulate General of Israel in New York to apply for my student visa. (Here’s how.) I hope it’s easier than a trip to the DMV.

Another anomaly that accelerates the anticipation of my arrival in an abroad area: the recent fluctuation of my circles of friends. One close friend left yesterday for a month-long study abroad program in Italy. Another friend, I saw the other day for the first time in two months. Some people I used to see everyday during the Spring semester, I doubt I’ll see for another year. One friend I hadn’t thought of in weeks randomly appeared before me yesterday.

We’re all just souls floating around on this Earth. We all have our own paths to travel, and sometimes do so with the company of others. You may sometimes travel similar paths with a larger number of people for a while, like during your high school experience, or four-year stay at Mason Gross. Or, two paths may cross for just a day, or a moment. It seems that the most satisfying way to journey through life is to enjoy the company of those that you are around, and with whom you cross paths. Get to know them. Learn from them and their different experiences and opinions. Keep in touch, if you so choose.

I suppose that this outlook on social interaction is what prevents me from being afraid. I look forward to diversifying my experience by meeting new people and participating in new practices abroad. I do so without forgetting the relations I (perhaps temporarily) leave behind. I know that I’ll return to New Jersey and bring new ideas and stories to share.

At the end of the day, I understand that things change, and I look forward to it.

Leave a Reply

