h1

Cheeseburger Tour

August 23, 2011

I think I’ve been subconsciously freaking out that I won’t be able to eat the same foods starting next week. There’s no real panic on the surface here. But every time I look at a menu, instead of being adventurous and checking out the different things any given establishment has to offer, I opt for the cheeseburger. I’ve always had a special place in my heart (and stomach) for cheeseburgers, as they’ve always been my default entrée. Lately though, I’ve gone burger-crazy. I seem to have found myself on a cheeseburger tour.

On Saturday, I ate at Ellen’s Stardust Diner in Manhattan with Evan. I’d always passed this place on my way to the Capezio store upstairs. The restaurant is famed for their singing servers. Altogether a fun place! I ordered a regular cheeseburger with fries. To shake things up, I tried to build the burger In-N-Out style:  bottom bun, ketchup, tomato, lettuce, beef patty, cheese, top bun. Of course, the burger was incomplete without the dressing and onions, but it still hit the spot.

On Sunday, I ate at Zinburger in Clifton with Rob. It’s relatively new to the area near my parents’ house, and it was the first time I’d been there. I ordered the Zinburger, made with Manchego Cheese & Zinfandel Braised Onions, and substituted Kobe beef. Although messy to hold, each delicious bite seemed to melt in my mouth. I followed this meal with a Strawberry Cheesecake Milkshake. Next time I go there, which may be many months from now, I’m getting the full experience and pairing my dinner with wine! Better yet, I bet they hold wine tastings there…

Image courtesy of zinburgernj.com

Yesterday, I hit the Skylark Diner with Kyle Marsh and Julia Ritter for a bon voyage lunch of sorts. The Skylark is simply the spot to go in the Rutgers New Brunswick area. Essentially, this was “see you next year” to the Skylark, too. I ordered the Lemongrass Marinated Turkey Burger, which has grilled pineapple, mango salsa, and is served with sweet potato fries. I substituted the turkey for beef and ate the fries with mayo. Thanks for lunch, Julia! And thanks, Kyle, for the pic.

Who knows what other burgers are in store for me this week before I go? And who knows what the burger situation is in Israel? I’ve read that you can order (an obviously non-kosher) cheeseburger at some McDonald’s Israel locations, and that McDonald’s direct competitor in Israel, Burger Ranch, serves burgers but not cheeseburgers. I’ve also read that during Passover, burgers at Burger Ranch are served with kosher, unleavened buns. How curious! Is there much of a difference?

I’m certainly in for a foodie adventure, and I’m taking you all with me!

4 comments

  1. The food in Israel is great. I kept kosher for many years and it wasn’t so hard. Yes, once I stopped, I discovered my love of cheeseburgers. There are all kinds of new foods to check out in Israel. Oh, Israeli pizza is the best in the world (better than Italy).


    • Thanks for your thoughts, Michael. I’ve heard so many good things about the food there so far, but you’re the first to talk about the pizza! I can’t wait to try it!


  2. I understand how you ingested that many burgers in such a short period! Just reading this I think I gained 5 pounds! Maybe the lack if burgers in Israel will be good for you! 😛

    Seriously though, you should definitely keep us all up to date on the very interesting new Israeli foods you try!


    • Yes yes, I know… Burgers are my weakness! From what I’ve heard about the food in Israel, I’m going to be in for some pretty healthy eating by default. Keep track of the Foodie posts using the link on the menu to the right!



Leave a Reply

