h1

Running Around Hebrew University, Literally.

September 1, 2011

One of my top priorities when getting settled in here in Jerusalem was finding out what the running situation was here. I wasn’t sure at all whether it was normal for people to run on the side of the road, like I do in the United States. I was thinking that I might have had to get a gym membership or something. But a few nights ago, I saw someone on the street with the symptoms of a running workout:  feverish and sweaty, wearing sneakers, with iPod in hand.

Yesterday morning, I got up early, took that video tour that I posted earlier, and got ready to run. I didn’t know where I was going exactly, but I made it my goal to run the perimeter of Hebrew University. I took the 8.5×11″ map they gave us at orientation, folded it up, grabbed my student ID and my keys, and headed for the South Gate of the Student Village.

I just hugged the University Walls to my left, and I only had to stop to ask for directions toward the end, when I had to run through the campus. I did stop about four more times though. The elevation was doing a number on my breathing. I found myself short of breath, especially after doing larger uphill stretches. So I tried to coordinate my breathing breaks with some picture taking.

Actually, I think there’s a way that I can post these photos as actual scrollable panoramics, but I’m not sure how to do it. I’ll figure it out soon. Also, I completely forgot to take pictures of myself out there! Next time, for sure. Here’s to running regularly in Israel, and getting better at it!

Leave a Reply

