h1

Small Scale Street Art in Jerusalem

September 4, 2011

Since watching Banksy’s Exit Through the Gift Shop, I’ve been interested in street art, what it means to the artist, and what it can mean for the community. On my trip to the shuk in downtown Jerusalem on Thursday, I was able to snap some shots of the local street art. You can find it almost anywhere. It seems to live on some prominent walls, garage doors, dumpsters, and occasionally some other places. I’d like to find some Banksy works out here… Perhaps they live closer to Old City.

Well? What do you think?

4 comments

  1. Banksy is an amazing artist and you should definitely continue following his work – he has had worldwide influence on street art.

    Hang in and get running!

    Paulette


    • I’ll definitely be posting the pics once I find some of his stuff!


  2. very cool, carlo. it’s great to see how much you are tuning into globalization…
    jeff


    • Thanks, Jeff. I was actually afraid I could fall into the sort of glazed over, tourist-like experience. You know… try to stick to Western foods, ask everyone if they speak English to help me, and think of Israel only as this far away place I’ve seen in the brochures, news, and online. But I just have to remind myself that I’ll be here a whole year and that the issues and interests (especially in the arts) that I have in the States have some parallels–or perpendicularities or tangents, for that matter. My stay and study here are much more permanent than a vacation, and I’d be a fool if I didn’t try to see Israel for what it really is and what that means to me!



Leave a Reply

