h1

I Came Here to Dance(Jerusalem)

September 11, 2011

I came here to dance, and you came here to read about it.

 

More clarity. Here’s how my academic schedule works for this month. The Rothberg International School/ Hebrew University/ Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance school year(s) doesn’t begin until October 30. So until then, RIS has me in the Ulpan, or Hebrew language study. Paul Bloom has organized for the DanceJerusalem program for the 13 or so students to take workshops for four weeks with choreographers with backgrounds in different companies.

On Mondays and Thursdays, we work with Noa Wertheim and Rina Wertheim-Koren, for technique class and learning Vertigo Dance Company choreography. On Mondays and Thursdays, we work with Aya Israeli for Gaga technique and Batsheva Dance Company repertory.

Mind you, all of this means I study Hebrew language for five hours, have a break to eat and commute (on the shuttle provided to us), and three hours of dance. It’s quite a full day!

Despite how long the days have been, the first week of dance felt wonderful. The running this summer seems to have done me some good. I’m also finding the oxygen up here a little bit easier now. The classes have brought my mind back into the exploration of the body in the laboratory setting, which will always remind me of Brian Brooks’ Improvisation II course back at Mason Gross. Noa has helped me find peace and honest flow with my body’s movement, and on Thursday, Rina led us through an improvisational exercise that explored the differences between “pushing” and “leaning.” And through Aya’s Gaga technique class, I’m beginning to understand what it means to let go.

 

 

It’s short and sweet for now. Look forward to hearing more about my studies at the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance!

What do you want to know about? I’m taking requests below!

6 comments

  1. you look like you’re learning sooo much!!! can’t wait to hear about the classes to come!!! whoooo


  2. sounds so fun – I am living vicariously through you both! You and Kyle look gorgeous..have fun! Julia


    • We’re having tons of fun for sure. More detailed posts to follow…


  3. OMG!!!!! That is so awesome. I’m so happy for guys and it’s great you’re getting to have this experience. We all seem to be gong through our own journies no matter where we are. I wish you both much success with your studies this semester. I look foward to reading more about your experience and seeing you upon your safe return. 🙂 josh


    • You’re always good for something nice to say, Josh! Thanks for reading! I hope you have a great year… Let’s catch up, soon!



Leave a Reply

