h1

…and miles to go before I sleep.

September 18, 2011

This weekend, I went to the Israel Museum and The Old City. When will I ever rest?

 

The Israel Museum

Our visit to the Israel Museum was really like any other museum I’ve been to, just with different stuff. There was an exhibit entitled Life:  A User’s Manual. Such a clever exhibit. The common theme among all the artists is their choice to follow instructions or not. Throughout the exhibit, there are dotted lines on the floor that suggest where to go next, and what to look at. Or not. Spending time there jogged my creative mind, and I jotted a few thoughts down for later, when approaching choreography. We also took some fun photos with some of the larger artworks, came upon the to-scale model of the city of Jerusalem, and saw the Dead Sea Scrolls.

 

 

The Old City

I walked with Elisa and Benny [FOUR MILES] to the Old City. There, we kind of meandered around until we found ourselves at the Western Wall. It wasn’t too crowded yet because it was the middle of the afternoon, generally between prayer times. I couldn’t take pictures or write notes in my journal out of respect for orthodox Shabbat observation, so I simply visited the wall. I’ll need to visit multiple times, including sometime on a Friday night when it’s fully packed. I want to do more thinking about what it really means for me to stand before it.

As we were leaving, the bells began to sound. Here’s a clip of us wandering in and out of a nook in the Old City.

 

 

I never rest.

On the four-mile walk back to Kfar HaStudentim (or Student Village), I meditated on the amount of time I spend doing things versus not doing things. In the United States, I was used to killing a lot more time with mundane activities. Here, I attend dance class, learn Hebrew, study Hebrew outside of class, prepare my own food, go food shopping, and try to hang out and sightsee as much as I can! Sleep seems to take a serious backseat…

The final verse of Robert Frost’s “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” came to mind. Slightly non sequitur, but who doesn’t enjoy quotes from a poem?

 

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before I sleep,

And miles to go before I sleep. 

2 comments

  1. Now you know how to tango…Win!!!


    • There’s a video of me taking my turn, but it’s not good enough to post. 🙂



Leave a Reply

