h1

A Tuesday Triumph

September 20, 2011

Greetings and good morning.

I went to the Shuk yesterday and my haul was the biggest yet. I had decided that it was no longer enough to be a raw foodatarian. To stock my kitchen, I bought all sorts of vegetables, some fresh warm pita, some pastries, and coffee.

 

The coffee was the most important part. It was hard to ask for the actual coffee at the spice shop because they seemed not to understand or want to speak English. I’ll learn yet!

So the real triumph was the breakfast I made:  simple scrambled eggs with cucumber, onions, and red and green peppers; stuffed in pita with hummus! I have always been afraid of the kitchen–and I never cook eggs. I made so much that I’ll have enough for lunch. No kitchen disasters. Everything turned out fine, and delicious.

This could be the beginning of a beautiful, self-sufficient, cost-efficient, non-nutrient-deficient thing.

 

 

Now the real question is… Does anyone have any suggestions for what I should try to make next? Let’s start simple here, folks!

6 comments

  1. pancakes


    • Great idea, Evan… I think I just need some baking powder and I’m all set!


  2. Purple yams.


    • I don’t even know if they have that here! And I haven’t learned my colors in Modern Hebrew yet… They’re definitely something I miss!


  3. Couscous! You can throw all sorts of vegetables and feta or chicken in. Not unlike cooking rice.


    • That sounds perfect… Thanks for the tip, Jacqueline!



Leave a Reply

