h1

Vertigo Dance Company: null / נול

September 20, 2011

Just when I thought this intensive was becoming predictable, a performance field trip was arranged. Tonight, we traveled to Tel Aviv, to the Suzanne Dellal Center to see Vertigo Dance Company‘s evening length piece, entitled “Null.”

To avoid turning this into an Introduction to Dance Studies paper, I’ll just say that I was truly inspired. It was helpful to have seen the company perform, as we are learning other repertory from Noa and Rina. The weight, yet lightness… The matter-of-fact-ness… The physicality, release, stylization, gesture… I can now approach the movement in class with a better idea of its ideal form.

We’re visiting the company and staying overnight at the Vertigo Eco Art Village on Thursday into Friday, where we’ll take class, rehearse the repertory, probably see a company performance, and more. Look out for an update about it this weekend!

Please enjoy these trailers for “Null.” The videos show only the tip of the iceberg!

 

 

 

Did I mention I was inspired?

 

 

Post Script:  I forgot to mention that Kyle and I ran into Yarden Raz outside of the Suzanne Dellal Center. She was just getting out of class as we arrived for the performance. Kyle and I had met Yarden during the summer of 2010 at Dance New Amsterdam. What a small world!

 

6 comments

  1. Looks really cool…What lovely skirts!
    Excited for when they come to MGSA!


    • You guys are going to love them!


  2. So glad you got to see the company…they will be staying at my house during their residency! Enjoy the sleep-over and give my regards. You two look gorgeous – the dance world is a small place, with a long memory…..xo Julia


    • We’re so lucky to have them tour Mason Gross, and they’re lucky to have your hospitality. We’re making good fortune all around. 🙂


  3. Carlo – beautiful clips thanks for sharing gets me excited for the three days they will spend here in October.


    • Thanks for the feedback! You’ll have to tell me all about the visit!



Leave a Reply

