h1

Is it cold, Carlo?

November 24, 2011

I was sure I overpacked bringing five pairs of pants to Israel. I thought I was silly for packing my long sleeve athletic shirts. I even laughed at myself for bringing as many long sleeves and sweaters as I did. Boy, did I have the weather figured all wrong! Only three months after my arrival in Israel, the weather has gotten COLD. Yes, folks. It’s cold in Jerusalem.

Yes, the weather in Israel is Mediterranean, but mainly near the Mediterranean Sea. That includes places like Haifa, Tel Aviv, and the Gaza Strip (which we’re not supposed to visit anyway). The weather is different half an hour eastward, in Jerusalem. The Student Village is on Mount Scopus, in the desert. Naturally, it gets cold at night. We’re also entering the rainy season, much like the Northern California Bay Area does this time of year. I haven’t worn shorts outside for a couple weeks now, and I regret not having thick sweaters, a proper coat, a cozy winter scarf, and my more substantial boots!

Hebrew trivia:  “Is it cold?” translates to “קר לו?” or “Car lo?”

It even got so cold last week that I got sick. My body even ran a fever on Shabbat. Might I add… I completely forgot to pack any sorts of medications. I didn’t anticipate getting sick, so I didn’t have any of those things on hand. But with the care of my friends (and their sick-day supplies), I got better and only had to miss one class.

A word to the wise study abroad-ers:  organize your sick day items. This of course includes whatever medications and remedies you care to bring or purchase upon arriving here, but you should also include the items that make you feel comfortable when you’re feeling weak. For me, that could’ve been a teddy bear or a favorite snack food.

2 comments

  1. It also snows there, not usually enough to make a snowman, but sometimes as much as an inch or two. The weather is quite diverse in Israel, which is very interesting when you consider just how small the country is.


    • Ah, so not only is it the SIZE of New Jersey… It’s got the same wide range of weather!



Leave a Reply

