h1

change of perspective, change in approach

January 28, 2012

I feel guilty I have not blogged in a while.

After some reflection, I discovered that this is merely because I am comfortable where I am, on many levels. I have gotten used to living in Jerusalem. The public transportation is easy to maneuver. I know what to do if I get lost. I have settled on some daily rituals. Coffee and oatmeal in the mornings, running three times a week, early commutes to the Academy, collective dinners with friends/flatmates, laundry every Shabbat.

Upon arrival in Jerusalem in early September—just five short months ago—I was not sure when I would reach this state of equilibrium. I feared that the views I see from outside my window, during my commutes and on my runs, of the Old City and valleys of Arab neighborhoods, would become commonplace. They have. It’s a common sight to look out of my living room window to see the Dome of the Rock. I don’t take nearly as many photos as I did those months ago.

Our friends enrolled in one-semester programs are almost all gone. These people traveled with us on our first experiences Tel Aviv, Haifa, the Tishbi Winery, Shuk Mahane Yehuda, and all our favorite corners of Jerusalem. They leave us here to continue their lives back home or elsewhere abroad. A number of us are here for five more months yet. And with the coming of a wave of new Spring semester study abroad students, and among them five new Dance Jerusalemites, I can’t help the feeling of being awarded veteran status here.

What does this mean? Well, with the change of perspective must come a change in my approach to blogging. This blog no longer serves me as merely a place to report all of my new tourist findings in Israel. It begs to go deeper. How do I feel? What am I actually learning? Perhaps it is time to actually discuss dance. This sounds good.

Of course, if anyone has any questions or would like me to write about something specific, don’t hesitate to ask. That would be fun, too.

 

With that, good day and shabbat shalom.

קרלו – Carlo

One comment

  1. Like you post. I also launched a Video Blog about Jerusalem last month – http://www.jerusalemexperience.com



Leave a Reply

