h1

Recipe: “We’ve All Split-Pea Soup”

February 6, 2012

&

Once upon a time in a kfar far away, there lived a man.
His friends all left to gather firewood or vacation in places near and far.
They all left behind various food items. From these items, this man made a soup.

&

Please enjoy this tastefully wistful cousin of Stone Soup.

&

&

&

“We’ve All Split-Pea Soup”

Preparation time: 20 minutes
Cook time: 2.5 hours?
Serves one with lots of leftovers.

&

I used these ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 of Elly’s red onions, diced
  • 2 tsp of Berke’s za’atar
  • 1 tsp of the cumin I brought with me from 714
  • 8 cups of water that came from a faucet with weaker water pressure
  • 2 cups of split peas and/or mung beans
  • 2 tbsp of the yellow (lemon/garlic?) salt in the spice drawer
  • 3 of Byron’s carrots, chopped
  • 1 funny-shaped red pepper, chopped
  • 2 anonymously bequeathed tomatoes, chopped
  • the last cup of Eric’s kidney beans, already cooked
  • a huge pinch of pepper
  • a sprinkling of crushed cayenne pepper
&
&
Preparation:
  • Heat the oil in the pot, over medium fire. Add the garlic, onions, za’atar, and cumin. The original recipe I looked at called for a bay leaf, and the first time I made it, I just used a ton of oregano. I haven’t bought oregano since I moved to this apartment, so I used cumin. I’ll decide whether it’s a good big difference or a bad big difference when the soup is done. Let them cook for 5 minutes, or until the onions begin to brown. Stir occasionally.
  • Add the water, salt, and split peas and/or mung beans. Give it all a stir, bring it to a boil, and let it simmer The first time I made this, the model recipe called for two hours of simmering. I didn’t wait quite that long because all of us were impatient for soup. I intended to simmer it for two hours this time, and spent time finally getting into Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close. When it got to an hour and a half, it had started sticking to the pot, like always seem to let happen, but I scraped some of the stuck part off and it was pretty tasty. I stirred it and scraped it, not like there was THAT much to scrape, added a cup of water, brought it back to a boil, and then down to a simmer again. I moved the pot to a weaker burner. Anyway. for 1.5 hours.
  • Add Byron’s carrots, the anonymous tomatoes, Eric’s beans, and the funny-shaped red pepper. I randomly decided to Throw some black pepper and cayenne pepper into it at this point. Continue to simmer for 1 hour. This time I accompanied my book with stovetop-heated/ toasted/ slightly singed brown (wheat?) pita and the remainder of my hummus.
  • Remove the heat and adjust the spices to taste. I don’t know spices too well, nor am I very picky about flavor, so I let the soup be.
&

&

Serving:

For the sake of your tongue, allow the soup to cool significantly before serving. Enjoy this soup with the friends you have left, or alone. This dish brings warmth to those chilly Jerusalem evenings, and the leftovers are perfect for a lonely and thankfully short winter break.

.בתאבון

&

Note: Other working titles for this soup included
“Extremely Slow & Incredibly Lonely Soup”
and “NOT Lickety-Split-Pea Soup”

&

Other note: The cumin was fine. I’m still not that picky.

&

5 comments

  1. You are being very productive all alone!


    • Well thanks! I’m finally finding more time to myself!


  2. The yellow salt is from Turkey’s spice bazaar, the anonymous tomatoes are from Elly. All mysteries solved, greetings from the Kapali çarši in Istanbul,
    Berke, Kyle & Elly


    • Hello, hello, thank you, and hello! You’re all missed here! I hope you’re having a blast. I can’t wait for the stories and photos!




Leave a Reply

