h1

TLV: The Perfect Stay-cation

March 10, 2012

I write this from a PC in an apartment in Old Jaffa. The computer and apartment belong to a friend, Smadar, who is a fellow student at the Academy. I came out here with my good friend, Elly, to celebrate Purim, which is like Jewish Halloween.

|

Purim Dance Party

|

I must say that this three days spent in Tel Aviv was amazing. There’s something about staying in someone’s home that obviously trumps staying at a hostel to spend a few nights out of Jerusalem. Aside from saving money, it was great to be able to cook our own meals, shower privately, and not have to worry about the other guests staying in your domitory-style hostel room. Elly and I rented bicycles, explored parts of Old Jaffa, spent some hours on the beaches in Tel Aviv, and went out to eat a few times.

|

Photo courtesy of Elly Hollenhorst

|

It was pleasant to get away from Jerusalem for the weekend and feel at home in a different city, just a short bus ride away. I hope to be able to do it again soon. Thank you so much, Smadar!

|

Carlo

P.S. The only regret is that I didn’t bother to bring my running shoes with me. The weather was PERFECT for it!

P.P.S. Can we just acknowledge that just a week ago, I was blogging about snow?

2 comments

  1. That photo of the balcony is lovely. I’d love to have one as cozy and cute!


    • Yes, and that’s just the balcony! The apartment complex is in such a great location in Old Jaffa, close the the Shuk HaPishpeshim and the Mediterranean!



Leave a Reply

