h1

My Experience as Told by Natalie Portman

May 20, 2012

Does anyone remember the time we saw Natalie Portman at The Joyce Theater when we went to see Batsheva Dance Comapny perform Project 5? She was just hanging out with Ohad Naharin. No big. It’s funny how small the world is, or how small you can make it seem when you make funny connections.

Anyway, Natalie Portman knows exactly how I feel here in Jerusalem when I’m battling my own perceptions of physical and conceptual reality, in terms of moving the body (especially in Gaga class) and approaching choreography (especially in Melanie’s class). It’s about breaking habits and releasing yourself from mental and physical (and emotional?) atrophy.

Please enjoy Portman’s perfect portrayal of my plight:

.

If you’re not familiar with it, the clip is from the 2005 film, V for Vendetta.

.

Yes, I have many times experienced artistic existential crises here in Israel.
Yes, It’s a good thing.

.

2 comments

  1. This is really special. I will apply to study in this program for the 2014-15 school year and what you write here fits much of what I feel. I may write you after a while.


    • Great, good luck to you! Looking forward to perhaps hearing from you.

      Best, Carlo



Leave a Reply

